After a recent RYC in Santa Rosa, one of our fencers came to me and asked why she just lost the bout in priority when “nothing really happened, I just stepped sidewise out of the fencing strip and clock was still counting”.
When I started to investigate what actually happened, she explained to me the following (quite a typical situation). It happened when she was at the end of her strip and trying to avoid a touch – she stepped out of the strip sidelines. The referee declared victory for her opponent.
Our girl was totally confused. She didn’t understand what had happened. Since it was a DE bout, she packed up her gear and headed home. The next day she asked me why the referee awarded her opponent a winning touch and denied her an opportunity to continue.
What happens when you step out of the strip in a fencing bout
Since it might be indeed a bit confusing, I would like to explain what does it means – in pictures! I’ll walk you through the basics, then dive into the pictures to make it more clear.